To years and years of growing up…

To my sister with love,

It’s been almost 24 years with you now. That long?! It feels like just yesterday we fought over a dress I stole ( borrowed) out of your closet and it feels like yesterday we huddled on the same chair to watch x files because we were too scared but didn’t want to give up watching. It feels like yesterday I was a proud little sister watching you beam with happiness, having received the acceptance letter to medical school and it feels like yesterday I was crying my heart out because I couldn’t be there to see you get the degree on stage.

I know life has other plans for us that will keep us away from each other and I don’t know when I will be able to hug you tight and huddle on a chair together watching a horror movie, but I do know that whatever challenges life decides you are up to, I will forever stand by you and fight through them with you, because distance doesn’t matter to us.

You are someone I always looked up to, not because you are flawless and perfect, but because you are flawed and imperfect and yet hold those flaws and imperfections like a boss! You are always true to who you are, incredibly caring about everyone and everything, you are beautiful inside out and I’m constantly in awe of you. You have faced challenges in life I cannot fathom facing and yet you have emerged victorious from all of them. Maybe not always the top but better than I can ever imagine!

I miss you incredibly but I never wish we could turn back time because we have come a long way since the x files watching days. You have grown a lot, gone through a lot and it has made you in to this strong girl I will never stop boasting about. We still have a long way to go before we can sit back on lawn chairs and relax after a hard day’s work and enjoy a tea, reminiscing about the past and sharing a good laugh.

So till then my love, hold on to your dreams and go forth. I will stand by you through whatever challenges life decides you are up to, and we’ll overcome them together. So for the time being, be selfish, be daring and be bold. And in this course if you ever feel like falling, don’t worry, I got you. If you ever feel like you are lost, don’t worry, I got you. I’ll hold you till you find your way back. Whatever happens, I got you. I got us.

So as Winnie the Pooh says it, “if there ever comes a day we cannot be together, keep me in your heart and I’ll stay there forever”.

Lots of love,

You little sister who will never stop looking up to you.

2 thoughts on “To years and years of growing up…

  1. I know I’m late to read this.. but I’m not late to tell you that it’s so heart touching and I hear my little sister’s words when reading this.

    Like

Leave a comment